Livin the dream? The life of Dede G

Posted: March 18, 2011 in KestrelBlog

International Day of (no so) AwesomenessThursday, March 10. 2011Today is March 10. The International Day of Awesomeness. Don’t believe me? Google it!

So far, though, today doesn’t feel so awesome.

Alarm went off at 4:45AM. Ouch! Believe it or not, that used to be “late” for me. Back when I was a Wall Street gal, I’d get up at 4:30 to go run, so I could be home, walk Riley the Wonderdog, shower and be at the trading desk by 6:30. I had always considered myself a ‘morning person’ (not much alternative when you have been known to go to bed at 7:30 PM!), but this morning, I wondered where my morning spunk went.

I got a few last odds and ends together for my trip, took a quick look at our place and realized how nice it looks when all my crap isn’t there cluttering it all up (DaveyG will likely admit that that is the one nice thing about me being gone! Order is restored!!) We were off to the airport by 5:15.

My first mini-melt down was saying good bye to Riley the Wonderdog. I miss her already. She has recovered fabulously from her surgery! Here is her eye….you can see the stitches where the vet (rockstar) removed her eyelid tumor.

She’ll heal up pretty as a picture. (Just so long as you don’t ask her to smile….3 more teeth removed, and one that mysteriously fell out from the last time she had dental work done. Poor bit! I think she may only have 2 or 3 teeth left!). And the bestest news of all; the tumor that was removed from her foot that looked “suspicious” (for the record, never good when a medical professional; human or otherwise, tells you that something looks suspicious) is, in fact, benign. No cancer for my pooch! Whew. I think we Griesbauers are full up on cancer right now, thank you very much!

So back to the car. Still sniffling back tears from leaving my pup, we headed over to the airport. Me and my 139 lbs of luggage. I had a very quick goodbye with my DaveyG which is a good thing. Band-Aid style. Couldn’t have handled much more. In fact, didn’t handle Band-Aid style very well either.

Got violated 100 different ways by the Airline for my excess luggage. So OK…I had 3 bags. And yes, one of them was a bike. But STILL. In total, that’s 139 lbs of luggage. Add to that the 135 lbs of me…and I can EASILY spot SEVERAL people who just themselves weigh 275 lbs. Don’t see THEM being charged excess fees. I am not ripping on the over-weight folks out there. I realize it’s not always by choice. I’m just sayin….I think it should be based on total weight. Just sayin’……

So now, I am airborne. Somewhere over Missouri now, if my flight tracker is correct. Me, my 139 lbs of luggage. No Riley and no Davey G.

International Day of Awesomeness? Not so awesome.

But I am looking forward to my 6 weeks in Austin. Life is simpler. Swim, bike, run, eat, sleep. That’s as fancy as it gets! And glad to have traded in my Saucony tights, mittens and ear warmers for Saucony shorts and jog bras!! That certainly does land in the file of “awesomeness”.

So while I am away, you all be good to my DaveyG. Bostonians, take him out for a beer every now and again (light beer….he has a marathon coming!)

Leave a Reply

