Meet Belinda Harper

Posted: February 2, 2011 in KestrelBlog

I am fortunate to work with some great athletes and one of my coaches Kristian Manietta, Charlotte Paul’s husband, has been instrumental in introducing me to some of his athletes from his coaching company, Trispecific.com.

I first saw Belinda in Kona last year and Kristian was cheering her on. He told me then that I was going to sponsor her. It wasn’t really an ask, more of a statement.

So, for 2011, Belinda will racing in New Zealand on her new Kestrel 4000 equipped with Sram Red and will be representing Kestrel and our Distributor. We are excited to have her onboard and look forward to a great season.

A bit about Belinda:

I was a competitive swimmer in my teenage years and won age group titles for the 200m breaststroke. At national level I consistently ranked in the top 3.
I retired from competitive sport and completed a Bachelor of Commerce, from there I travelled the world.
At age 30 I returned to Auckland and took up triathlons, I have slowly built up my triathlon skill set. In 2010 teamed with coach Kristian Manietta of Trispecific I achieved a break through year where I won the amateur division at the Kona Ironman World Championships, I set a new course record for the 35-39 age group and recorded the fastest time ever by an amateur athlete. Following this success I have turned to the professional ranks, I aim to be competitive in this field, my 2011 goals are outlined in my race schedule below.

My long term goal is to qualify for Kona 2012 as a professional athlete.

Resent results
*results beyond 2 years available on request

15 Jan 2011 Challenge Wanaka -5th Pro
10 Dec 2010 Taupo Half Ironman -1st overall
5 Dec 2010 Tinman Triathlon -4th overall
21 Nov 2010 Maraetai Peoples Tri -1st overall

5 March 2010 Ironman New Zealand 9hrs48mins
1st amateur athlete, 35-39 age group
6th place overall
Jan 2010 Tauranga Half Ironman -7th Elite
October 2009 ITU Longdistance World Championships, Perth Australia
3rd amateur, 2nd 30-34 age group
April 2009 Auckland Half Ironman -2nd overall

Media
http://www.3news.co.nz/Challenge-Wanaka-both-cruel-and-kind-to-the-Kiwis/tabid/317/articleID/194542/Default.aspx

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10699748

http://www.trispecific.com/_blog/The_TriSpecific_Musings/post/Checking_in_with_Age_Group_Ironman_World_Champ_Belinda_Harper/

Leave a Reply

