Type A – Courtenay Brown

Posted: February 1, 2011 in KestrelBlog

So, when I first chatted with Courtenay, I told her she had the most impressive resume I’ve seen! It’s almost not fair that she is this good at so many different things, including Triathlons. I especially like that she was a radio host. I think I’m going to have to use her for our podcasts that we will be doing live at some of the REV 3 events!

My name is Courtenay Brown. I was born in Annapolis, Maryland, and my childhood years were spent in Maryland, Hawaii, the Philippines, South Carolina, California, and on the back of a horse.

I graduated high school in 1996, and spent a year abroad working for various plant physiologists. During this time I learned that I didn’t want to be a natural or physical scientist. Then I went to the University of Virginia, so I could get a good education and also ride some nice horses. During my third year at U.Va. I started running, with the goal of competing in the Charlottesville 10-miler in 2000. I finished 6th overall female and couldn’t wait to run more, but poor training methods gave me stress fractures in both heels and tabled my running career. I graduated with honors in 2001 with a degree in Economics and History.

From 1999 to 2002, I worked at 91.9 WNRN-FM in Charlottesville, where I had my own weekday morning show, “Late for Work with Courtenay Brown.” Now it’s Late for Work with some dude. I also held your standard barista and waitress jobs, and I knew Dave Matthews. I moved to San Francisco in November of 2002, started cycling in 2003, racing locally in 2004, nationally in 2005 through 2007. In 2006 I started the ValueAct Capital Women’s Cycling Team. In late 2007, I learned how to swim. I started to run again. I did two triathlons and I won one of them.

In 2008 I raced triathlon almost exclusively, and loved it. Beginning in 2009 I joined the sport’s professional ranks. Meanwhile, as time ticked on and as part-time athlete-friendly jobs seemed to become more and more menial, I applied to graduate school.

I now reside in Boulder, Colorado, pursuing a PhD in Political Science (I finally found my “science”!) from the University of Colorado at Boulder. School complements my professional athletic career well, both pursuits encourage excellence and efficiency. I also write a regular column for Inside Triathlon magazine, entitled “Conviction”.

Oh, and I like to draw and paint!

Leave a Reply

