South Africa to New Jersey? Really?

Posted: January 30, 2011 in KestrelBlog

Jersey? Ok, how does a smart woman like Jacqui go from South Africa and end up in NJ? I’m not sure yet, I really need to get the whole story on this but of all the 50 states, I’m not sure I would end up there. And yes, I’m from Philly PA so I can bust on Jersey a bit here 🙂

This is Jacqui’s second year with Kestrel and the Trakkers/Rev3 team.

I am a wife and mother of two beautiful children Tanner and Sydney.We live in New Jersey but I am originally from South Africa. I was born in Port Elizabeth home of the Ironman SA and always look forward to going home to compete.
My lifestyle growing up was all about being outdoors and active. I, inspired by Zola Budd started running at the age of 5 and developed a lifelong passion for it. My days were spent swimming,playing hockey,competing for my state in Biathlon, Track and Field and Cross Country. I was further inspired by 4 x Olympian Colleen De Reuck who was my high school PE teacher.
My love for triathlon started in 1998 when I was encouraged to take part in a local sprint. Age group awards, led to winning local races. But triathlon was put on hold twice due to having my children. The passion was definitely there and in 2003 I started racing again. I qualified for Kona at my first Ironman in Lake Placid and once I got a taste for racing in Hawaii I announced to my table at the awards that the following year I would be up on the stage.
I lived up to that winning every 70.3 I entered and placing second in my age group in Kona.
The following year I was offered a spot on the Timex Team and decided that year that I wanted to give myself a chance to race with the best in the World as a professional. So in 2006 I turned professional.
I have raced 16 Ironman with 9 top ten finishes and have multiple top 5 finishes in both the Ironman and 70.3 distance.
I love to race and am so happy to be racing on the Trakkers Team for the second year. We are so lucky to be supported by a great group of sponsors and I look forward to another great year with Kestrel.

Leave a Reply

