The Kestrel Cage

Posted: May 20, 2009 in KestrelBlog
How cool is this!

How cool is this!

OK, so I spend most of my days working on Kestrel frames, bikes, bars, and other cool projects in the works so I figured I would show you the latest creation. This was a collaboration of 3 guys and 1 great factory coming together. Behold, the new Kestrel Carbon Cage… that works!

The goal was to produce something unique to Kestrel but it had to be functional. When I say functional, I wanted it to not launch bottles! Simple on a down tube and seat tube, not so simple on a rear bottle carrier.

The amazing thing is we starting working on this over a year ago. What took so long? Many prototypes that didn’t work, looked silly, and downright failed. Hey, I never said I was batting 100% out of the gate. Perfection takes time and well… I’m a slow learner πŸ™‚

Big kudos to Brian, Bryan and our team in Taiwan to come up with this and stick to our madness of making something we were all happy with.

We just placed the first order so we will see them at the end of the summer if not sooner.

More cool parts coming so stay tuned.

Back to photo shoot. I’m in Taiwan and then China to wrap up 2010 bikes and spec. Long trip. Can’t wait to get home πŸ™‚

Take care…

Leave a Reply

