Home & New Athlete Signing

Posted: December 18, 2008 in KestrelBlog

Thanks for Todd @ TT Bike Fit for these photos

Thanks for Todd @ TT Bike Fit for these photos

Finally, I get to sleep in my own bed for 3 week straight!  I can’t tell you how good that feels.  Taiwan and China beds are incredibly hard.  Maybe something you get used to but for someone like me, I love my California King.  I’m 6’5″ and 220lbs and I require a nice soft bed.

Taiwan trip went well.  I got to see all the 2010 parts for my new bikes and my spec if finally done.  Still is funny to me that I work a full season ahead.  Zipp, Profile, San Marco, Vittoria, etc. were all there.  It’s great to have small meetings with my vendors and get everything dialed in.  I also got to see the 2010 graphics and make sure my 2009 bikes are being assembled correctly.  Nothing cooler then seeing thousands of Kestrel frames being built into bikes.  I get to carefully inspect the bikes as they come off the line and I build the first of each model myself.  That probably is the most gratifying part of my job.  Building the first bike is just too cool and instructing our factory that I want everything PERFECT is a ton of work but well worth it!

On a side note, I have to say that out of my seven nights in Taiwan, I got to eat 4 nights of AWESOME ITALIAN food!  I know, crazy but 3 restaurants are within walking distance of our hotel and it really is great food!  My manlaw is any Italian restaurant I go to I order Lasagna.  It’s the way it is no matter what country I’m in.   I know simple but it’s the way I am 🙂

So, while I was doing all this, I was also working hard to sign our new athlete.  Dede Greisbauer has officially joined the Kestrel Team.  Dede is awesome!  Not only is she a really cool person, she could possibly be the smartest person I ever met.  Not just book smart, which she is, Wharton Graduate, and all but she’s smart when it comes to the the world of sponsorship and triathlons.  Dede and I have been speaking for over a year and I’m really excited to have her on board.  She joins Pip Taylor, Charlotte Paul, Katja Schumacher and our Kestrel Team of riders.  Dede will be riding the new Kestrel Airfoil Pro SE with SRAM Red, Zipp Wheels and Oval Bar and fork.

Up next, a possible trip to Italy for some new technology I’m working on and then back to China to continue working on the new TT bike.  I have to say the new bike is looking SWEET.  I go to NC to the tunnel to do my first testing.  We have some cool features on the new frame that should put this tops in the tunnel, especially with a rider on the bike.  This still remains my goal.  Always test with a rider.  I’ve never seen a bike riding itself so for me, rider and bike makes sense.

I’m really looking forward to the next 14 days.  Why?  I’m finally getting a “vacation.”  In quotes because those who know me know I really never take time off and my vacation is me working for 2 hours from home and that’s it!  I need some down time with the family and the holidays are the perfect time to do this.

So, I wish everyone a safe and happy holiday season and hope everyone gets a nice new Kestrel as a gift!

Take care,

Steven

Leave a Reply

