Hawaii Ironman

Posted: October 14, 2008 in KestrelBlog

Finally, some R & R.  It’s been an amazing 10 days in Kona.  I finally have a day to relax.

So, here we go.   Pictures will follow this when I return from Kona on Friday. 

Charlotte Paul 11th place. Not what she wanted but HI is tough!  We were shooting for a top ten finish but Charlotte still had an amazing race.  I have to tell you that I think we overwhelmed Charlotte a bit with our cheering and support.  We officially introduced her to the Kestrel Family and took her and her family out to 2 dinners along with Matty Reed and his family.  $800.00 + later, we were all well fed and extremely happy.  Kestrel just doesn’t sponsor athletes, we really do bring them into our family and make them friends.  I’m excited to have her and Kristian her husband riding for Kestrel again next year.  For those who haven’t met Charlotte and her husban Kristian, they really are 2 of the nicest people you could meet.  Extremely nice and I hope to help them both with adding some sponsorship dollars to their cause.  After the race we met Charlotte in the finishers shoot.  Still smiling!  We have some great photos of her and her mom that are priceless that I’ll post later.

Expo:  4 days in 98 degrees under a black tent with black shirts!  What could be better?  Nothing actually.  I love doing expos and meeting people so it was a great time.  I got to chat with my friend Jim Felt and meet others from the industry.  What poeple don’t know is we all get along well so it’s great to get together and talk shop.  Charlotte did a few interviews and we introduced her to her new Airfoil Pro SE that she will be riding next year.  Mind you, I’m 6’5″ and she rides a 47cm so when you see the photos of me and her, it looks like a very little bike.  All the expo bikes were sold to Boca Bikes in HI so if you are looking for some deals, they are the place to go.  Boca is 100% a class act.  Very professional and I hope a bit thicker in the pocketbook after this week.  They deserve it as they worked their butts off.

Interviews:  I have to say, the pros are looking at Kestrel again.  We had many stop by for 2009 sponsorship and all were very excited to see the new Airfoils and Talons.  I think they now we are back and ready to compete with the big boys.  We should have a few top level signings in the next few weeks. 

Slowtwitch Party:  Yes, I am an avid Slowtwitch writer and reader so I had to attend the party.  It’s great to meet the faces behind the names on the site.  Joe Boness was even there.  He and I go back to my Elite Bikes days and it was great to catch up with him.  Everyone from Slowtwitch was really great and I even offered to sponsor the event next year.

Fun.  How’s snorkling for 2 hours!  I love snorkling and I brought a few of the team with me.  Even my wife who although not being able to swim well went in for a quick dip.  A bit sea sick and all!  The dinners we had were awesome and I’m officially up 10 lbs.  No riding and lots of beer and food will do that.  I’m writing this sitting at the beach so 4 more hours of this and then we leave for the airport for the long journey home. 

That’s it for now, more to come in a few day.

Leave a Reply

